Answered By: Laura Horgan
Last Updated: Mar 20, 2017     Views: 2320

The Library of Congress (LC) Classification System is used to organize the materials on the shelves in the Middlesex Community College Libraries.  Most academic libraries use this system that was developed by the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. It has 21 categories represented by letters of the alphabet that are further divided by an additional two or three letters.  The major differences between the LC system and the Dewey Decimal system found in public libraries include:

  •  materials written by an author and materials about an author are shelved together;
  • biographies are shelved along with the subject of the biography;
  • separate sections are not established for specific types of fiction.

LC Classification Outline


Related Topics

Contact Us

Contact a MCC Librarian


Text: 978.241.7884

Bedford Campus Library: 781.280.3708

Lowell Campus Library: 978.656.3004